13 Horizontal and vertical frames

Most of the images below were taken in and around the Melbourne CBD and the last few  are Port Douglas in Queensland. Equipment used was a Nikon DSLR and predominately a 28-300 lens, but there are a number of shots with a 50mm and 20mm lenses as well. In all I took many shots and it took me 2 days to take the Melbourne images that I was happy with, a much longer exercise than I gave it credit when reading the brief…

Image 1
VH1a

VH1b

Image2 – my choice here is the vertical frame showing the glimps of the tower block through the trees, giving more context to the bank branches surroundings.VH2a

VH2b

Image 3 – again my preference here is the vertical image, with the old clock tower visible.VH3b

VH3a

Image 4

VH4b

VH4a

Image 5

vh6b

vh6a

Image 6

vh5a

vh5b

Image 7 – is one of the images where I have a strong preference for the vertical shot, being able to see the buildings of the CBD towering above in the background brings a good contrast to the water level cafe.

vh7b

vh7a

Image 8

vh9b

vh9a

Image 9

vh10b

vh10a

Image 10

vh14b

vh14a

Image 11

DSC_1586_DxO

DSC_1589_DxO

Image 12 – I deliberately included a glimpse of the sky in the horizontal shot to make it less abstract but on the vertical shot not like the same composition so I excluded the sky.DSC_1623_DxO

DSC_1622_DxO

Image 13

DSC_1627_DxO

DSC_1626_DxO

Image 14 – the vertical image would be my choice, showing the CBD and new building works in the background.

DSC_1630_DxO

DSC_1632_DxO

Image 15

vh12a

vh12b

Image 16

vh13a

vh13b

Image 17

DSC_0926_DxO

DSC_0927_DxO

Image 18

DSC_0985_DxO

DSC_0984_DxO

Image 19 – ok so you don’ get many crocks in Melbourne as its too cold, these last two sets are from Port Douglas in Queensland.

DSC_0674_DxO

DSC_0675_DxO

Image 20

DSC_0606s

DSC_0605s

The more abstract images such as 11,13,15 and 17 work well in either format but I still have my preferences i.e. in image 17 I like the apparent depth of the vertical shot, with more cherries out of focus in the background. The majority of the images work well in the vertical or horizontal and either could be chosen depending on intended use. But there are a number I have noted above were I have a distinct preference.

Leave a Reply

