41 A narrative picture essay

Tell a story in a set of pictures.

Originally for this exercise I took a number of images that to be frank where just too ‘static’ which never made it into the final cut for the exercise. The images I have used are ones I have tried to liven up with movement either by freezing or blurring the action in the image! I don’t have any DTP software so have had to lay them out using my limited knowledge of WordPress. The subject of my photographs is making pancakes..

Equipment used Fujifilm X-pro 1 and 18-55mm lens. Nikon DSLR with 105mm lens, Nikon Speedlight flash. Processing with Nikon NX2 and DXO.

Pancakes

DSCF7963_DxO

The star ingredients

DSC_6317_DxO

Place about 100g of flour into a bowl

DSC_6334_DxO

Then add an egg into the flour

DSC_6370_DxO

Whisk the flour and the egg together with a splash of milk.DSC_6388_DxO

Heat up a pan

DSCF7970_DxO

And pour in the mixture and cook till golden 

DSC_6272_DxO

Add some sugar

DSCF7971_DxO

And some juice if you wish…

DSC_6774_DxO

But most of all … Enjoy!

I deliberately went down the path of excluding people in the images, as I considered it would de-tract from the story. I have consciously kept the text brief below each image brief just enough to give context to the proceeding image and action, wanting it to be more about the pictures than the words. I feel there is more to explore here in my approach and intend to come back to this at a later stage.

Leave a Reply

